SAFF Women’s Championship 2019

The 2019 SAFF Women’s Championship will be the fifth edition of the SAFF Women’s Championship, the biennial international women’s football championship contested by the national teams of the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF). Initially, scheduled from 17 to 26 December 2018 in Sri Lanka, the competition was rescheduled, as Sri Lanka withdrew as hosts. Afterwards, it was scheduled to be held in 2019 from 12–22 March and will be hosted by Nepal.

Participating Teams

Defending champions India and Bangladesh were pitted in group B and group A respectively. In Group A, Nepal who finished second in the first three editions of the tournament were drawn with 2016 runners-up Bangladesh, Bhutan and Pakistan and in Group B, along with India, Maldives and Sri Lanka are placed. Afghanistan will not be playing in SAFF championships from this edition though they played in the 2016 edition even after changing their sub-confederation from SAFF to CAFF in 2014.

Country Appearance Previous best performance

FIFA ranking
Dec 2018


5th Champions (2010201220142016) 62

  Nepal (Host)

5th Runners-up (201020122014)



5th Runners-up (2016)



5th Semi-finals (2016)


 Sri Lanka


Semi-finals (2012, 2014)




Semi-finals (2010)


Venue:   Sahid Rangashala, Biratnagar, Nepal.

Teams: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka.

12 Mar 2019 Nepal vs Bhutan 15:00Hrs Sahid Rangashala
13 Mar 2019  India vs Maldives 15:00Hrs Sahid Rangashala
14 Mar 2019 Bhutan vs Bangladesh 15:00Hrs Sahid Rangashala
15 Mar 2019 Maldives vs Sri Lanka 15:00Hrs Sahid Rangashala
16 Mar 2019 Bangladesh vs Nepal 15:00Hrs Sahid Rangashala
17 Mar 2019 Sri Lanka vs India 15:00Hrs Sahid Rangashala
Rest Days
20 Mar 2019 Champion A vs Runner-up B 11:00Hrs Sahid Rangashala
Champion B vs Runner-up A 15:00Hrs Sahid Rangashala
Rest Days
22 Mar 2019 Final 15:00Hrs Sahid Rangashala

NPT: Nepal Standard Time (GMT+5:45)


Leave a Reply

four + 8 =