Title race intensifies

As the league nears the end, it is getting evermore exciting. We have seen the top teams stunned by the newbies and made to run for their money but everything narrows the way towards getting our very own title winner of the season.

It has been weeks that the two titans of the league has been retaining their top 2 position. Until recently, Thimphu City FC had a tight hold on the top with a major goal difference but to their dismay, they faced a shockingly disheartening loss against the season’s newbie Druk Lhayul FC giving Paro FC a time to celebrate.

“We had to give up the tag of being unbeaten just few matches prior to the deciding match against Paro FC but that doesn’t mean we will have give in. We still have matches to go and time to rebound” said Ngawang Dhendup, boss of Thimphu City FC.

Head coach of Thimphu City FC, Ngawang Dhendup

But Paro FC had to face a tough and disappointing loss in their crucial match against Transport United FC just 2 matches prior to the final clash. However, it is a mistake they could afford taking City’s 1 loss into context.

“So far we are doing welI and for now I want my team to be more detached from the wins and losses and be more focused on doing the last few  matches well. When we focus on getting the win, it can suffocate us, especially during the last competitive stages  when the pressure gets thicker. Every title contender is in an  obvious pressure but for now we need to take a match at a time” says PFC coach Pushpa Lal Sharma.

Head coach of Paro FC, Pushpa Lal Sharma

Having 2 upcoming matches each, the 2 are scheduled to clash on the final day of the league. Looking at the upcoming fixture, the defending champion are facing the teams in top 4 whereas the Tigers seemingly has it easy as they have a match against Gelephu FC, the team who is already relegated.

It would take a whole lot of miracle to change the fact that the 2 giants are undeniably the title contender for BoB Bhutan Premier League 2021. The wait, however is just to see if City rettains the tag of Champion or Paro FC ends their one year wait to reclaim the cup.